Celebrating a Year

June 20, 2012

with 6 comments

In the morning I remember my first Choro “Nadando Em Luz” (Swimming in Light) written a decade ago, pre-Rio, that I have brought with me in the hand-written copy. I enter it into Finale, my computer music-writing program, and send it off to Marcilio as well, since the poor old piece has never had a good harmony to go with its melody. I leave mid-morning to take the bus & metro to Praca XV, the ferryboat to Niteroi, and then the bus to Marcilio’s apartment building. He greets me, smiling as always, and we start to work. He has already put a few chords into the score of “Nadando,” and I am delighted at the changes. The pieces I’m creating based on Gershwin’s “Summertime” and Piazzolla’s “Milonga de Angel,” have ended up partway between a North-American and Brazilian aesthetic, so the search for the right harmony is more complicated than usual, and we leave my 3rd piece undone, but he promises to send me some ideas. As I pack up to go he asks me to do him a favor, to give a music folder to a fellow musician on my way home, as he has someone sitting in for him at Trapiche tonight. I am so happy to oblige and save him a couple of hours of travel to do this task, as he spends so many hours with me on my projects. So I retrace my steps– bus, boat, metro– getting off halfway home to walk upstairs and hand the folder over the turnstile to Marcilio’s guitarist, and then return to my journey home. I arrive tired but happy, and stop at the bar at the bottom of my hill for a bowl of the delicious Brazilian black bean soup and a dark draft beer, thinking ahead to my trip to Sao Paulo on Friday. What will it bring?

Written by mairmusic

June 25, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Posted in June, Rio

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What an interesing composition you’re working on…cannot wait until you record it so we can all hear it.

    slpmartin

    June 25, 2012 at 2:41 pm

  2. It all sounds most interesting and I love the collaborations … and having read that last sentence, I think it might be time for dinner.

    Jamie Dedes

    June 25, 2012 at 10:47 pm

  3. amazing shots marilynn.

    Sharmishtha Basu

    June 26, 2012 at 1:06 am


Leave a comment