Celebrating a Year

May 16, 2013

with 6 comments

5.16.13Lilacs– heavenly fragrance and lovely lavender color. If I had to pick just one favorite flower– which luckily I don’t, as we can all love as many blossoms as we can stuff into our memories– it would have to be this one. Poets through the ages have agreed, and New Englanders too have been planting them since our forebears first arrived. Sometime in the midst of a wood you will come across a lilac bush, all that’s left to mark a long-gone homesite. I do have some at my new place, though they appear to be a hybrid as they are still tightly budded up. But the regular, hardy, famous perennial is blooming away all over my neighborhood, and its delicateĀ scent flavors my daily walks.

Written by mairmusic

May 17, 2013 at 8:52 am

Posted in May

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmm…you just gave me an idea for a poem…which is good since I hadn’t though of a poem for tonight. :-)

    slpmartin

    May 17, 2013 at 1:58 pm

  2. […] poem was inspired by a recent post by my friend Marilynn […]

  3. How lovely to have lilacs.

    Jamie Dedes

    May 20, 2013 at 11:07 pm


Leave a comment