Celebrating a Year

July 27, 2017

with 2 comments

We’re rehearsing with the singers for the first time today, but not until evening. So I take a taxi to the second island of Macau, Taipa. There I check some of the must-do’s off my list– eat an egg tart from Lord Snow, a pork chop on bun from the hole-in-the-wall shop that made them famous, an almond cookie that tastes like a sawdust shortbread. Note: they also add pork, squid, or sesame seed to the cookies, which seems like a crazy idea to westerner, me.. I visit the “green museums,” a series of small colonial houses, yes, a pale green stucco, walk in the lotus garden beyond them, and visit two small temples. It would be a lovely calm day, but it’s 95, feels-like 104. By time I get to the taxi home I feel like I have heatstroke. Rehearsal in the evening is fraught with anxiety– the main singer has not got his rhythms right, and does not follow the conductor well, which throws the latter into a rage. There are more cuts to the score, including the 30 measures before my first entrance, removing all my carefully memorized clues. I also mis-hear the conductor for the cut and so miss my entrance by a measure. OK, back to the drawing board before tomorrow.

Written by mairmusic

July 30, 2017 at 8:48 pm

Posted in July

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Another very interesting day!

    slpmartin

    July 31, 2017 at 11:55 am


Leave a Reply

