Celebrating a Year

July 26, 2017

with 2 comments

When I arrive at the rehearsal hall this morning there is a microphone waiting for me. Uh oh. My part is marked ppp and at its loudest mp, so I have been trying to balance between the composer’s directive and the need to be heard, because the orchestra texture thins out at each of my 4 entrances and my part is important. But I guess the maestro has decided I need a little help. Amplification never works out well for one instrument in an acoustic setting unless it’s done by an expert, and this isn’t, but I have to let it run its course. And as I prepare for my second entrance, the oboe and flute wince at the sudden squeal of feedback and the tech hurries over to turn the mic off. Reprieve for today, but we’ll see what tomorrow brings– in the big hall with the singers. After practice I stop at the Museum of Handover Gifts, and wander through the display of all the welcome presents given to Macau by the other Chinese provinces when it was given back by Portugal in 1999. Large sculptures mixing old with new and full of symbolism, it presents an impressive display. Unfortunately the reflections off the glass make for poor photos so above is only one detail of a large sculpture. As I continue toward home I stumble on a paper store– hooray! I love the simple notebooks with odd English brand names and pick up a few. But my main thrill of the day is the bakery/restaurant next door with bright green cakes and loaves of bread in the window. Intrigued I step in and order an egg salad sandwich on green-tea bread to go, heading back to the hotel for a delicious solitary lunch.

Written by mairmusic

July 27, 2017 at 6:26 am

Posted in July

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Green tea bread…now that’s one I will have to google to see what they put into it….I do enjoy these vicarious trips to places I probably will never visit. :-) Hope you have another wonderful day!

    slpmartin

    July 27, 2017 at 12:17 pm


Leave a Reply

