Celebrating a Year

July 24, 2017

with 2 comments

I am uncharacteristically nervous this morning, probably because I have no idea what I am getting myself into. As I leave the hotel for the rehearsal, trying to figure out which direction to turn, I happily run into a guest percussionist from Taiwan who knows where we are going, so I tag along. There is a folder waiting with the official music, the official language of the rehearsal seems to be English– although the conductor flips easily into Chinese or German to answer specific questions. The rigors of counting are my biggest challenge, especially as we get toward the end and my jetlag is impairing my ability to pay attention. I uncharacteristically miss an entrance, the last of my four, which rattles me, but I will have time to study tonight to feel more secure tomorrow. I manage to find my way home, although I seem to have lost my map, and then set out in search of a recommended restaurant. It’s hot and sunny, and I can’t follow the directions on my phone, but turning a corner I see a place that draws my attention. I stumble in, it’s full of locals, I order from pictures, and am rewarded with a huge bowl of delicious noodle soup and a glass of iced milk tea. On the way home I spy some of Macau’s famous egg custards and add a couple to my larder. The evening is spent listening to the opera recording, score downloaded on my computer, plotting ways to catch the count several bars before my entrances. I fall asleep early.

Written by mairmusic

July 25, 2017 at 2:35 am

Posted in July

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You seem to be adjusting well to the new environment…no small task given all the traveling.

    slpmartin

    July 25, 2017 at 12:42 pm


Leave a Reply

