Celebrating a Year

week 457 ~ treetops peek through my window

with 2 comments

treetops peek through my window
stark against the cloud-grey sky
ponder where did summer go

rain-drenched branches bowing low
silent birds still dare not fly
treetops peek through my window

dampness invades its chill so
penetrating here as I
ponder where did summer go

still time presses on below
throw off blankets heave a sigh
treetops peek through my window

time to start the day although
morning sunlight passed us by
ponder where did summer go

sluggishly though it be slow
life persists so we must try
treetops peek through my window
ponder where did summer go

Written by mairmusic

July 17, 2017 at 8:31 pm

Posted in July, villanelle

Tagged with , , , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ah…this one made me smile…a playful tone.

    slpmartin

    July 17, 2017 at 8:53 pm


Leave a Reply

