Celebrating a Year

June 30, 2017

with 4 comments

Today the idyll ends, as our student chamber groups play their pieces for each other and their faculty coaches, and we gather on the deck for one last group photo. But today is also another ending, a personal one of greater significance, closing an interval of over 3 decades. Today is my last official day as a Professor of Music at Roger Williams University. So after I say goodbye to these AMGuSS friends and students, I head to my office to clear the final items out, and then, car full, office empty, turn my key in to the Dean. I am firm in my reasons for leaving university life. There’s too much administrative chaff to negotiate in getting to the important moments in the classroom. But I still feel sadness in this symbolic moment, at the finality of it, at the fact that it makes me feel old to say I am now “retired.” And indeed my schedule as the summer stretches out is crammed so full of music that “retired” doesn’t fit my new reality either. So I readjust my perspective, realizing I’m simply in transition– leaving behind a huge chunk of my responsibility for teaching others, and putting music back in as the driving force of my life. So although today is an ending to be noted, tomorrow really will be the first day of the rest of my life.

Written by mairmusic

July 17, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Posted in June

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The administrative deluge of paper has… as far as I can tell…done little to facilitate excellence in the teaching and learning process.

    slpmartin

    July 17, 2017 at 5:11 pm

    • Yep, it just buries those who wish to actually teach something.

      mairmusic

      July 23, 2017 at 8:08 pm

  2. You will never be old. Your spirit is always young.

    David Voyles

    July 17, 2017 at 5:19 pm


Leave a Reply

