Celebrating a Year

April 17, 2017

with 2 comments

You can’t make this stuff up! I really did see this “cawboy” selling juice downtown. I am back no centro this morning on a quest for new music books and CDs. I fail in the first, but manage to snag a couple of the latter. And a bottle of cachaca to take home. Alas, they are out of my favorite Lua Nova (new moon) but do have Boazinho (a little good thing). The skies have been grey all day, and I get stuck in a downpour once again, walking home from the bus. It continues to rain off and on all day, but tonight is my last roda and I won’t miss it. I check with my friend L. and she says it’s on, so I head out. And the rain ends. It’s a good session and I get to play many of my favorites and a couple of tunes I have never played in a roda before. For one of them the guitarist is reading the chords upside down off my leadsheet! I linger, reluctant to leave as this will be my last playing session of the trip. But all good things must end, so I grab a taxi for home, still humming one of the delightful choro, the music that got me to this exotic city in the first place.

Written by mairmusic

April 19, 2017 at 10:29 am

Posted in April

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a great picture of the “cawboy”…enjoyed it….sounds like a fine ending.

    slpmartin

    April 19, 2017 at 3:12 pm


Leave a Reply

