Celebrating a Year

April 16, 2017

leave a comment »

It’s Easter Sunday, and I am going for it today! I start with pancake breakfast at R’s with much of his extended family. He learned about pancakes while he was working in Boston, and here in Rio they are rare so they have become his speciality. Iziane said she thought Americans ate pancakes for breakfast every morning, at least they do in the movies! R’s run out of his self-imported maple syrup– nonexistent in Brazil– but there’s jam and some of the Brazilians opt for ham and cheese as a topping! Then it’s off to the Hippie Fair (sometimes delightfully written: “hype faere”) to look for some small presentes, and I manage to actually find some locally made, and avoid the ubiquitous tourist fridge magnets. The man on the right is serenading folks with his berimbaum. I decide against the delicious but digestively dangerous Bahian shrimp dumplings, but do get a slice of one of my favorite desserts– a tapioca cake topped with condensed milk and coconut. I head home with my goodies and in the evening, though tired, walk to a local roda. I am rewarded with good music, and the unexpected appearance of Eric, Mariana and Tomas (guitar, flute, and clarinet)– so I get to play with them one more time on my visit and say goodbye. A nice day and, although I have said it before and it hasn’t been true, I have finished my course of antibiotics and feel I have really kicked it this time.

Written by mairmusic

April 19, 2017 at 10:18 am

Posted in April

Leave a Reply

