Celebrating a Year

April 8, 2017

with 2 comments

There are two things I have committed to do today, so I struggle through my exhausted inertia to carry on. In the morning I meet Marcilio briefly at the Saturday choro school, to give him some CDs and arrange a date to see his bandolim quartet in rehearsal. The recordings I have heard of their playing are marvelous, but this formation is unusual for Brazil so he has asked for my input. He’s between classes and, date set, has to run. It is incredibly hot and humid and as I wait and watch his teaching roda I begin to feel dizzy so I leave. Later, getting ready to go to the much-anticipated roda party R is giving in honor of my visit, I am so lethargic it takes over an hour to pack up my instrument and music and walk the 5 blocks to his house. Playing revives me, of course, but his wife C. notices I don’t look well and after a short chat declares that R. will take me to their clinic tomorrow to get to the bottom of this. I agree, because something is clearly amiss. I leave early though the music is cooking, and crawl into bed wondering what I’ll learn tomorrow.

Written by mairmusic

April 18, 2017 at 9:07 pm

Posted in April

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good that there’s someone there to prod you into proper course of action for the illness.

    slpmartin

    April 18, 2017 at 9:29 pm


Leave a Reply

