Celebrating a Year

April 12, 2017

with 2 comments

Today’s one activity– I am trying not to overdo– is going to hear Marcilio’s quartet at rehearsal. Rain is threatening so I pack my umbrella, but it holds off until I arrive. These are four accomplished choro musicians who have decided to forego the pandeiro percussion and the 6- and 7-string guitars to create a bandolim quartet.Marcilio has had a bandolim-cello made and learned to play it just so he could do this. They are just starting out, but their high level of musicianship has already created a beautifully sounding ensemble, and Marcilio’s arrangements, as always, are spot on. I have a couple of coaching-type comments to make, since this format is one I have directed and performed in for many years. But mostly I just reaffirm that they are on the right path. It’s raining as we leave, and they are going on to another rehearsal, but offer me a ride partway home. Unfortunately when they drop me off the rain has turned to deluge and gutters become rivers and even with a taxi, by time I am home I am soaked. Iziane greets me at the door with mock disapproval, but I can quickly shower and change and contentedly spend a warm, dry evening at home.

Written by mairmusic

April 18, 2017 at 10:15 pm

Posted in April

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Although it sounds like a wonderful evening…you may have over done it just a bit…deserving of the disapproving looks.

    slpmartin

    April 18, 2017 at 10:56 pm


Leave a Reply

