Celebrating a Year

April 11, 2017

with 2 comments

Today I am teaching at UFRJ for my friend and fellow professor Paulo’s group of bandolim students. Here he is pictured with two of them after the class. It is brutally hot as I set out for bus-metro trip downtown, and I quickly become aware that I am still not back in good health. Single-mindedly I forge ahead though, as I have promised and am expected. And luckily, as an experienced teacher, the interaction with the students blocks out everything but the joy of transferring knowledge. They are young and talented and it’s satisfying to be able to add a new perspective to their thinking about styles of bandolim/mandolin playing. But the spell breaks as they leave and I feel feverish and unsteady and have to steel myself to focus on making it home. I guess this recovery thing is going to take more time than I had hoped. Regretfully I cancel plans to go to a much-anticipated concert in the evening, as it seems imprudent to venture downtown again today in my current state. I try to focus on improving, and not on what I am missing.

Written by mairmusic

April 18, 2017 at 9:56 pm

Posted in April

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You really must take better care of yourself! :-)

    slpmartin

    April 18, 2017 at 10:58 pm


Leave a Reply

