Celebrating a Year

April 5, 2017

with 2 comments

Today I really do feel that I have turned a corner. Iziane’s soup and tea played a big part. She is delighted, and tells me that she was afraid I had a new dread disease that has just appeared in Brazil. I’m not even going to write the name here because it is way scary and I don’t have it so there is no point in worrying anyone. I write a bit in the morning and take care of some internet business, and then grab the metro to Catete to visit one of my favorite Brazilian institutions, the Edson folklore museum. At first I am thrilled that they have finally reopened the main part of the museum, damaged by flooding 4 years ago. But as I walk through it is painfully apparent that so much is missing. Most of what is there is new. Mr. Duck has survived, and the huge smiling clay pot, but the beautiful life-sized wooden angel and all the candomble artifacts, and the diaoramas that moved with the push of a button, those are nowhere to be found. I will have to hope they are still being restored and will reappear again, because I would hate to have them gone forever, living on only in my memories and luckily my photographs from a decade ago. I stop for an acai “slurpy” on the way home, and arrive around dark, tired, but still well.

Written by mairmusic

April 6, 2017 at 1:45 pm

Posted in April

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad you hear you’re feeling better and enjoying Rio.

    slpmartin

    April 6, 2017 at 3:14 pm


Leave a Reply

