Celebrating a Year

April 2, 2017

leave a comment »

Well this turns out not to be the day I imagined when I woke up. I arrive at the usually-cheerful Sao Salvador roda only to find all the musicians just standing around, police everywhere, angry vendors taking down their stands. Apparently the neighbors complained about excessive noise and the police say the vendors’ permits aren’t valid– a point being loudly contested. The roda finally gets permission to play, but when we begin the vendors charge us yelling angrily and clapping loudly to disrupt the music. And the roda supporters yell back. The hostility is as thick as molasses, and I’m not sure which side I belong on. Freaked out, I pack up and leave. Luckily today I have the Forte roda still ahead and that turns out to be lovely and civilized and I get to play my favorite tunes with many of my favorite choristas. Afterwards we go for pizza and choppe (draft beer) and seemingly a happy end to the day. But by time I get home I am congested and feeling like perhaps the magic of Arismar’s music wasn’t enough to counteract several hours of sitting around wet. Why does eveything have to be so hard here? I go to bed grumpy and worried.

Written by mairmusic

April 6, 2017 at 1:12 pm

Posted in April

Leave a Reply

