Celebrating a Year

April 1, 2017

with 2 comments

My fever seems to be gone by morning. I am really relieved because I have been looking forward to tonight’s concert since before I arrived in Rio. I met Arismar do Espirito Santo on stage at a concert in the US, years ago, before I had ever been to Brasil. I had been invited by a percussionist-friend to sit in for a couple of tunes, and their trio swept inexperienced-me away with them into glorious music. Since then we have become friends, and he plays on some tunes on my CD “Meu Bandolim.” Tonight he is playing 7-string guitar and piano in a duo with Gabriel Grossi, harmonica. It is sprinkling as I set out, and by time I emerge from the metro it is a tropical deluge, with inescapable puddles in every gutter. But I put up my umbrella and persevere, have a lovely dinner near the hall, and take my seat, slightly damp, for the concert. It is wonderful, and, as an added bonus Mauricio Einhorn, Gabriel’s teacher and composer of the jazz-fakebook-standard,”Estamos Ai,” joins them on stage for a couple of tunes. Arismar is his usual irrepressible self, and the concert ends with him leading everyone in the hall in an unaccompanied group sing of “Estamos Ai.” “Marilynn, nao bandolim?,” he roars as he hugs me afterwards. Here’s a sample of the music, albeit with a quartet instead of the duo. Enjoy! It was a great night of music and I hum my way home, after midnight.

Written by mairmusic

April 2, 2017 at 2:22 pm

Posted in April

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a treat to hear them play.

    slpmartin

    April 2, 2017 at 3:35 pm


Leave a Reply

