Celebrating a Year

March 27, 2017

with 2 comments

Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. I stick pretty close to home today doing this and that, and in the evening go out to check out a new roda for me, in Flamengo. It was started by the bandolim class at EPM, and today marks their 2 year anniversary. Luciana A, who invited me, said there would be lots of people there to celebrate, and it’s a new destination for me so I leave my bandolim at home. I feel pretty confident of being able to safely navigate here in Rio, but when in doubt I always err on the side of caution. It’s an informal jam, as L. said, with more bandolims than I have ever seen at a roda, and they move in and out, playing sometimes, talking sometimes. Some old friends are here and its good to reconnect. I am just thinking of heading home when suddenly here’s Ronald do Bandolim! I say hi and we chat for a bit and then he grabs his bandolim and sits in for a set with the group. Sheila Zagury has also showed up and set up a keyboard, unusual for a roda, and later my friend Bia arrives with her clarinet. The roda jumps a whole level, but still includes the local crew. The 7-string to Ronaldo’s right is solidly in “the kitchen,” and there’s a good pandeiro player as well. It’s a cool evening of choro. I’ll be back to play with them next week.

Written by mairmusic

March 28, 2017 at 2:56 pm

Posted in March

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh…what fun! Always fascinating how certain environments can engender spirited music.

    slpmartin

    March 28, 2017 at 3:02 pm


Leave a Reply

