Celebrating a Year

March 25, 2017

with 2 comments

A day for friends and communication. I meet R & C & little G for breakfast. They reassure me that my transportation experience yesterday is not uncommon, because the whole system of busses was redone into hubs for the Olympics, in an effort to ease traffic. They have both found out the same hard way that I did that old routes don’t run as expected, and R. helps me figure out the routes for the rest of my day with the app Moovit. I say good-bye and head off to Saturday Choro school, to hear the music of the gigantic Bandao, and in hopes of running into friends who can direct me to any new rodas upcoming. I am running early, so stop at the Rio Sul Shopping on the way to get a new sim card for my phone– because I just can’t stand depending on wifi for my communication needs, as it is pretty useless away from home. The girl at Tim, the cell company I use, is so determined to get me up and running and onto What’s App that I nearly miss Bandao, but arrive just in time to hear “Um, dois, um e dois e” as the music begins. I reconnect with friends, get some information, then head off to a late lunch with M., and R’s directions are perfect. We catch up in a chi-chi restaurant, as is our tradition. So now I am connected, in person and by phone. And somehow today it feels like my soul finally arrives.

Written by mairmusic

March 27, 2017 at 1:25 pm

Posted in March

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like it’s starting to come together with the help of friends. :-)

    slpmartin

    March 27, 2017 at 2:52 pm


Leave a Reply

