Celebrating a Year

March 23, 2017

with 2 comments

I head downtown, where ultimately I will go to a concert, but first I intend to wander about. But it is hot, I am still not in sync with my surroundings, and so, after a beet & carrot juice at my favorite juicebar (I kid you not, it is delicious, and seems the easiest way to get some healthy foods into my body) and some desultory strolling, I cut the wandering short and sink into the comfort of a leather chair and AC in a Starbucks with an iced green tea, and write. Cowardly, but so refreshing. The concert turns out to be a multi-media presentation of choro history with a live band playing and old photos and recordings– how I wish I could bring it home as there are English subtitles! Alas, not yet. Pictured at left, performing, Luciana Rabello, cavaquinho-player extraordinaire and President of the newly opened Casa de Choro, where the concert takes place. As I leave, a bit nervous about getting to the subway after dark, I meet a 77-year-old woman going the same way and we walk and chat together. An inspiration. Off the subway, onto the connecting bus, and I am home, my musical adventures well begun.

Written by mairmusic

March 27, 2017 at 12:28 pm

Posted in March

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like a wonderful start…too bad you couldn’t make a video of the program.

    slpmartin

    March 27, 2017 at 2:48 pm

    • I didn’t want to “steal” from them. I do hope they will release one though.

      mairmusic

      March 27, 2017 at 3:12 pm


Leave a Reply

