Celebrating a Year

July 18, 2016

with 2 comments

7.17.16I am startled awake by the phone v.early this morning. Mom has been taken to the ER with chest pains, and my brother who lives nearby isn’t home. So I say, “I’m on my way,” grab coffee, and head out, unfortunately hitting rush hour traffic delays around Boston. By time I arrive in NH, Mom is holding court, chatting with the staff, as is her wont. Tests have been run and nothing has been found amiss, although they say she was understandably agitated and upset to find herself out of familiar surroundings. So I sign her out, we maneuver her slowly from hospital bed to wheelchair, to car, and I drive her back to her home. I fuss about a bit there, consult with the staff, hand over the test results for her file, find out some things she needs, and leave her happily at lunch. “Don’t worry about me, dear, I’ll be fine,” she says as I kiss her good-bye, dementia wiping all memory of her recent ordeal from her mind. I drive home again, and arrive exhausted but glad I was here to answer the call.

Written by mairmusic

July 23, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Posted in July

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It was wonderful that you could be there for her…even if she doesn’t recall the events…you know!

    slpmartin

    July 23, 2016 at 7:09 pm


Leave a Reply

